RTA Photography Course.

Our photography course, given by Avi Ratnayake, started on January 19th. It was held in the Ballinfoyle/Castlegar Community Centre on the Headford Road, Galway.

I was a bit apprehensive starting the course as I have just a camera on my phone and I was wondering did I need something better. My fears were allayed very soon as most of the participants were using the cameras on their phones.

Avi soon explained the basics of image Composition to us. We became familiar with The Rule of Thirds, Leading Lines, Central Split and Symmetry to name but a few guidelines. We took some photos ourselves using the directions and we got very welcome feedback!

I am looking forward to the next course and in the meantime I will try to put the rules I have learned into practice!

A view of Loughrea Lake

Leave a comment